You probably remember the famous McDonald’s burn injury lawsuit in which an older woman sued the fast food conglomerate for burns she sustained from a cup of coffee. What you likely don’t know is how severe the injury was: The 79-year-old woman suffered third-degree burns on her inner thighs, buttocks, groin and surrounding areas due to the scalding temperature of the coffee. The burns covered approximately six percent of her body, and she was hospitalized for eight days. She was ultimately awarded $640,000.
The McDonald’s case is just one example of a successful lawsuit, but just how severe does your burn injury need to be before you can sue?
Any burn caused intentionally or due to negligence can be grounds for a personal injury claim. However, the intensity of the wound and the circumstances that led up to the incident will play a significant part in determining how much your case is worth. Burn injury lawsuits relating to third-degree burns are some of the most lucrative because these wounds can leave victims with permanent scarring and disfigurement. These cases typically involve thermal, chemical, electrical or radiation burns that happen in the workplace, at a hospital or place of business, on someone’s property or in an auto accident.
If you’ve suffered a burn injury, it’s important to keep detailed documentation of your injuries including:
- Photographs of the injuries
- Medical care and expenses
- Witness testimony
- Lost wages or loss of income
The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Arizona is two years after the date of the accident. Our lawyers at the Jensen Phelan Law Firm, P.C. have extensive experience with these forms of lawsuits and can help you file your claim and make sure you receive the full amount of compensation you’re owed for your burn injury.
Schedule your FREE consultation with our lawyers in Prescott Valley today at928-778-2660 . We serve clients in Prescott, Cottonwood and throughout Northern Arizona.